My Top 5 Anime Openings

For me there is a difference between my favourite anime opening songs and openings – this is the latter. Anime openings I like for the opening sequence, rather than just the song. I love all the songs in these openings, but I also love the animation and how they set the scene for the season.

5. Michiko to Hatchin/Michiko e Hatchin – Paraiso, by Soil & “Pimp” Sessions

The colours in this opening and the animation style really grabbed me.

It’s a typical Manglobe opening, which is another reason why it’s so awesome (I also really liked the opening for Samurai Champloo).

The whole soundtrack for this anime was amazing, capturing the beat and soul of South America.

I love this opening because of the pop art animation, the fast music, how Michiko’s motorcycle travels across the screen in different settings and the end shot where Michiko and Hatchin have had style changes.

4. Yamada and the Seven Witches/Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo – Kuchizuke Diamond, by Weaver

This opening is a lot different from all the others on my list.

I was late arriving to the Yamada-kun party, only watching the series the week before the final episode aired, I enjoyed it a lot (so many funny moments), but I really fell for this opening.

I love the song and the flow of the animation. And I especially love the ending of the opening, when Yamada catches Shiraishi’s hat, then she tries to take it off him, leading him to lean down and kiss her under the cover of the wide brim.

So cute.

3. Attack on Titan/Shingeki no Kyojin – Guren no Yumiya, by Linked Horizon

This is the first anime opening song that I added to my iTunes, and the first I thought twice about skipping when I watched a new episode.

Normally with shounen anime they have these awful cheesy openings that you can watch and appreciate once, but then they become boring quickly (I’m looking a you, One Piece).

But this opening just gets you pumped!

I especially love the jaunty transition between screen shots, the silvery screen tone they’ve put over the animation that makes the red stand out, and the bit where all the cadets jump up from behind the rooftops – the whole thing is just epic!

A great opening for a great anime.

2. Naruto – Sign, by FLOW

I can’t watch this opening without tearing up.

Seriously. It cuts me deep.

I think Studio Pierrot captured the struggles of Naruto and Sasuke perfectly in this opening.

The foreshadowing in it is just spot on. After watching the arc you can go back and watch it and think “Oh, shit,” seeing all the hints they put in it about a certain character’s death, Sasuke’s battle with Itachi, and Naruto’s struggle to contain the nine-tails.

Masterful.

1. Tokyo Ghoul – Unravel, by TK

This song.

This opening.

THIS ANIME!

I think this opening was perfect for Tokyo Ghoul season 1.

The animation is just so beautiful and the song fits the tone of the anime perfectly – even the lyrics echo the tragic events to come.

The art work, especially on Touka’s kagune, is stunning. I love the bright colours and the swirling patterns against the black background.

Although they did steal the opening scenery from No.6 just a little.

What are your favourite anime openings?
Leave a Reply

