30-Day Anime Challenge: Day 1: Very First Anime You Watched

Thanks to a suggestion by Fujinsei I’ve decided to do the 30-Day Anime Challenge. I will do my best to post every day!

Growing up in the UK and in a household where we only had BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5, I didn’t watch that much anime.

The only anime I was able to watch was whatever CBBC decided was fit to show to young children. That left me with very few options, two of which were Pokemon and Cardcaptor Sakura.

Pokemon

Pokemon, TV Tokyo
Pokemon, TV Tokyo

What 90s kid hasn’t watched Pokemon?

Even if you talk to someone my age who says they’re not into anime they’ll have watched Pokemon. I mean, if you sing the English version of the season 1 opening to anyone who grew up in the 90s/early 2000s they’ll be able to sing it back to you (“I WANNA BE THE VERY BEST! LIKE NO ONE EVER WAS!!”).

Back in the 90s Pokemon was EVERYWHERE.

It was a phenomenon.

The cards, the game, the anime.

Literally everywhere.

My primary school banned pupils from being Pokemon cards into school because of the amount of disruption they were causing. I can’t imagine the amount of pocket money I spent on those cards…

I only found out a few years ago that Pokemon was an anime, rather than a cartoon. Back then I think only a very few people in the UK had heard of anime. This was the days before Internet after all (God, that makes me sound so old!).

I loved Pokemon as a kid. I rewatched the first two seasons when I was at university and remembered how much I loved it – the sense of adventure, the trials, the AWFUL puns that James and Meowth from Team Rocket are always making.

Pokemon is, along with Harry Potter, something that represents childhood for me. I wanted to live in the Pokemon world so badly and go on a journey like Ash. Imagine being 10 years ago and being able to go off on your own to fight dangerous wild animals?!

Going back now and looking at the awful dub edits they did to Pokemon always amuses me.

Cardcaptor Sakura

Cardcaptor Sakura, Madhouse
Cardcaptor Sakura, Madhouse

I’m still very fond of this anime, and was shocked to find out – after I really got into anime – that it’s a shojo. I always associate shojo with soppy romances set in schools, female characters who are always flicking between two guys and a real life setting. Cardcaptor Sakura is full of action, magic, cute badass moments and, yes, there’s a little romance thrown in there too.

I love Sakura.

She’s so awesome – such a strong female character and for a 10 year old she kicks ass. I like it how she’s physically and mentally strong and yet has retained her sweetness.

Madison – Sakura’s best friend – is also an amazing female character. Their friendship’s awesome. I love how Madison is always there with a new costume – always suited for the style of fighting Sakura has to do – ready and waiting for Sakura to put on before she heads into battle.

I really love the magic system in this anime – how the cards contain powers within which Sakura can release using her key wand, and how each card has a different personality and ability.

The romance in this anime is also really sweet, even if Lee and Sakura are like 10 years old…

Kero’s also an awesome side kick – he’s so sassy. I just want to squidge him!

I also really love the opening for this anime:

Yes, lots of good memories associated with this anime. I really need to rewatch it at some point.


It’s safe to say that these two anime helped shaped my imagination when I was a child. They were a gateway into the anime world which I have now fully fallen into.

What’s the first anime you watched?
One thought on “30-Day Anime Challenge: Day 1: Very First Anime You Watched

  1. Yay! Good for you. I wish you good luck on conquering this 30-Day Anime Challenge.

    Pokemon! Ah, brings back so many good memories. I remember sneaking my Gameboy Color (the huge one) to school and exchanging tips with my fellow classmates who play Pokemon game, too. It was so much fun!

    Anyway, good start for this challenge. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

