Autumn Anime 2015: End of Season Roundup

The Autumn Anime season of 2015 is now over. Twelve pretty fantastic weeks of anime have come to a close. Here’s a quick roundup of what I thought about the shows I watched this season.

WARNING – SPOILERS AHEAD 

At the start of this season I had nine shows I was planning on watching:

  • One Punch Man
  • Noragami Aragoto
  • Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai
  • Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry
  • Lance n’ Masques
  • High School Star Musical
  • Subete ga F Ni Naru: The Perfect Insider
  • Sakurako-san no Ashimoto Ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru
  • Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya

In the end I didn’t watch all of them.

I watched half of Noragami Aragoto with the housemate, and then stopped because the anime was starting to overtake where I was in the manga, which I want to read first. What I watched though was very good. We’ll continue it after I’ve caught up with the manga.

I also dropped Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry because of the amount of fan service the show contained – stupid sister with a stupid brother complex. It was a shame because the story and characters really interested me. I would have continued watching if it wasn’t for the amount of naked women in the show.

Additionally, I also dropped Lance n’ Masques and High School Star Musical, the former because I found the story dull, and the latter because the musical numbers made be cringe.

I didn’t start the second season of Seraph of the End because – like Noragami – I want to read the manga first. I also found the first season of Seraph a little strange – so many quiet moments and the animation was a little slow. I’ll probably watch it once I’ve read the manga.

So in the end I ended up watching five shows this season.

Comet Lucifer

Comet-Lucifer-05-f1-700x385
Comet Lucifer, Bandai Visual

This anime was OK. The story wasn’t that amazing, but I found it entertaining.

I didn’t like how Felia grew up half way through – I would have preferred her to stay as a kid throughout the anime, but I guess if that happened then Sogo and her wouldn’t have fallen in love with each other. At the start of the anime I wanted Sogo and Kaon to get together, but in the end I was glad she ended up with Roman, because Sogo turned out to be a hopeless baka and Roman had more heart.

I liked the sci-fi element in this anime. It confused me a little in the last episode – like why the other guardian wanted Sogo – but I liked how the other guardian was from our Earth, and came to Gift after we fked up our planet and killed our angel.

The ending of this show satisfied me – I felt they made the right choices for all the characters.

One Punch Man

33654-onepunch
One Punch Man, Madhouse

This is probably my favourite anime of the season.

It was very very good.

Funny, full of great characters, stunning animation and interesting story arcs.

I was highly recommend One Punch Man to everyone.

(I’ve got very little to say about this anime, because it was just THAT GOOD!)

Keeping my fingers crossed for a second season.

Sakurako-san no Ashimoto Ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru

rBH5dNO
Sakurako-san no Ashimoto Ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru, Lantis

This anime started off really good, but it lost its touch somewhere in the middle.

I’m not a huge fan of anime that don’t have a strong main story line. I prefer shows where each episode contributes towards the main story line, rather than having each episode as a story of its own. Sakurako-san did have an arc, but it didn’t become apparent until the 10th or 11th episode.

They should built up the mystery of Hanafusa more.

I was a little disappointed by the last episode, since the anime didn’t come to a clean end. I assume that since this is the case they will make more. I wish we had found out about what happened to Sakurako’s brother in the last episode – I assume he is buried under the cherry tree, or he has some connection to Hanafusa. We also didn’t get to meet Sakurako’s fiance. There are so many mysteries left unsolved.

Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai

Taimadou-Gakuen-35-Shiken-Shoutai-anime-01
Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai, Silver Link

I started this anime with low hopes, but it ended up being pretty good.

It was a little harem-y for my taste. There were too many girls fawning over the same guy, and I didn’t like the mecha relic eaters transformations.

But overall it had some interesting characters and a compelling story.

I was a little disappointing by the final episode. At the end of the 11th I thought we were going to have a really cool, massive showdown with a lot of heartache, but it ended up being a lot of running around and very little else. At least the series wrapped itself up nicely.

Subete ga F Ni Naru: The Perfect Insider

90b5f-strt-b1431619720436
Subete ga F Ni Naru: The Perfect Insider, A-1 Pictures

The beginning and end of this anime were really good, but the middle section when they were trying to work out who the murderer was, was REALLY slow. It got a little dull and I started to lose interest until things picked up when they worked out who the murderer was.

I liked the big twist at the end that revealed that Magata had a daughter who had been in the room for the whole 15 years with her, although I found it a little unbelievable that she was able to give birth to her and raise her all on her own, with literally no outside help. Also, the whole uncle thing was disturbing…

I didn’t like how this anime ended – the conclusion for Saikawa and Nishinosono was satisfying, but the ending scenes with Magata and her daughter were so CONFUSING! I didn’t realise that this anime only had 11 episodes, so at the end of episode 11 I thought there was one more. No. No no. That was it. So many questions left unanswered.

Ushio to Tora

2015-07-20-001022_1920x1080_scrot
Ushio to Tora, Studio VOLN

I’ll also mention Ushio to Tora, because even though it was part of the Summer 2015 list, it finished during the autumn run.

I really liked how they animated the series in the style of how the manga was drawn. It’s good the anime industry is animating old manga like Ushio to Tora and Parasyte – it means they can animate the whole series in one go, rather than waiting years between seasons for the manga to catch up.

I also loved Tora. He was such a great character – starting off hating Ushio and desperately wanting to eat him, and then mellowing out while hiding behind his old desire to eat Ushio, when he actually cared about him.

I’m looking forward to watching season 2 in spring 2016! I assume they’ll be able to finish the series with another 24/26 episodes.

What was your favourite show of autumn 2015?

One thought on “Autumn Anime 2015: End of Season Roundup

Leave a Reply

