Spring Anime 2016: First Impressions

The first couple of episodes of the Spring 2016 anime season have aired. And I must say I’m enjoying this season a lot so far.

Ushio to Tora

u6kYSap

I dislike the opening for this season – it’s not as good as first season, which really got me pumped when I watched a new episode. I think the slowness of the song is to blame.

It’s a good opening arc though. It grabbed my attention and has raised the stakes in the game.

I thought the story telling was a little disjointed. It didn’t flow as effortlessly as the first season.

But it’s still an amazing show. I was shocked by the smalle part of Tora’s backstory reveal we got in episode 3. Looking forward to seeing how this series is going to come to an end.

Endride

endride-anime

This show is alright. The animation is pretty decent, and the story line is interesting enough. The magical world setting is alright, but it’s nothing unique.

The characters are good, although, again, nothing too original. I like the main character’s obsession with crystals.

The script writing isn’t great. I found the dialogue a little repetitive and flat.

I have a feeling I’ll drop this series, especially since it’s 25 episodes.

Mayoiga

CXUg5CkU0AETmfn

This anime is seriously disturbing. I felt unnerved after watching the first episode. The characters are all slightly unhinged, and after the second episode it’s clear there is more going on than meets the eye. Something’s happened at the village, but we don’t know what yet.

This show could probably be amazing, but the script writing lets it down.

At the moment its funny/interesting enough to keep watching, but if it slows down to a crawl or becomes ridiculous the housemate and I might drop it. It’s walking a thin line.

Boku no Hero Academia

boku_no_hero_academia_wallpaper_hd_anime_by_corphish2-d9fl0dr

This show is amazing.

Seriously. IT’S AMAZING!

All the characters are sympathetic. During that second episode I felt for everyone. Everyone is struggling with their own problems. None of the characters are flat – they all have their faults, including the traditional buff heroic character of All Might.

I like Midoriya – he’s such a perfect protagonist. Can’t wait to see how he’s going to develop into the greatest hero, and I’m also looking forward to meeting all the other characters.

Twin Star Exorcists

Sousei-no-Onmyouji-anime-anuncio-television

This was pretty good.

I loved the first episode and the second was interesting enough.

I like Rokuro’s unique character trait – that he’s amazingly strong, but doesn’t want to anything to do with being an exorcist. Benio is also pretty cool – I like her fox mask and how her outfit looks when she equips her talismans.

It’s a little weird how the two of them are destined to give birth to the world’s strongest exorcist – that that is their destiny, rather than the two of them joining forces to be the strongest exorcists by combining their powers.

This show has a lot of potential. I’m interested to see where it’s going to go.

Bungou Stray Dogs

Bungou.Stray.Dogs.full.1959015

This show is amazing.

It’s just as good as I thought it was going to be.

The first episode really hooked me. It was funny. The setting is really interesting. Atsushi is a great main character and I like how his powers were revealed.

The comedy style grated on me a little in the second episode, which I found less enjoying than the first. Everything was a little over the top, which works well in moderation. Hopefully when things become more serious, when the antagonists are introduced and the first arc starts, the comedy will be toned down.

Can’t wait to see where this story is going to go!

Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge

maxresdefault

This show was so funny.

(Although I can’t believe this isn’t a shounen ai…)

It’s as slow as I thought it was going to be, but it’s got such a nice, relaxed feel to it. It’s a nice one to watch at the weekend. Makes you feel relaxed and happy.

Shounen Maid

new-anime-spring-2016-Shounen-Maid.jpg

This show wasn’t on my original list, but watched the first episode to see what it was like and found it really enjoyable.

Chihiro is really sweet. I like how hardworking he is, although I think his need to clean borders on OCD (I’m not saying that’s a bad thing – just an observation). The uncle’s pretty cool – I liked how he turned out to be a costume designer, which is an unusual trait for most older male anime characters.

Like Tanaka-kun It has such a lovely slice of life feel to it.

What’s your favourite show of the Spring 2016 Anime season so far?


Just a side note: I might be going on hiatus again – just for three weeks or so. My most recent internship is coming to an end, and I’m currently finishing off writing my latest book. I’ve struggled over the past 3 months to find the energy to run this blog, but once I’ve finished my internship and I return to unemployment status (*cries*), I’ll be back to having all the time to run this blog.

Leave a Reply

